District Information


New Jersey Soil Conservation Districts consist of paid staff plus a  volunteer Board of Supervisors. The Hudson Essex Passaic Soil Conservation District receives no tax dollars and is supported by the collection of plan review and project inspection fees paid by developers for construction projects.

Public business meetings are conducted at the District Office located at 80 Orchard St, Bloomfield, NJ. Meetings are generally scheduled for the first Thursday of every month September through June at 7 p.m. Please contact the HEPSCD office at 862-333-4505 prior to attendance to verify the public meeting remains on schedule.

Upcoming meeting dates:

Meeting Schedule – 2020

January 27, 2020        4th Monday   

February 24, 2020       4th Monday   

March 23, 2020           4th Monday 

April 27, 2020           4th Monday 

May 18, 2020             3rd Monday 

June 22, 2020             4th Monday 


September 28, 2020        4th Monday 

October 26, 2020          4th Monday 

November 23, 2020         4th Monday 

December 21, 2020        3rd Monday

Public meeting agendas, financial reports, and minutes . Resolutions passed at public meetings.

District Personnel

HEPSCD Board of Supervisors

Ms. Jerry Flach, Secretary                                       Passaic County, term expires 6/30/21

Mr. Matthew Ward, Chairman                Passaic County, term expires 6/30/22

Mr. Gray Russell, Treasurer            Essex County, term expires 6/30/23

Ms. Elizabeth Hite Vollavanh : Essex County, term expires 6/30/21

Mr. Mario Tridente, Vice Chairman        Hudson County, term expires 6/30/23

Salaried District Staff 

⇒ Who is my inspector?


Glen Van Olden, District Manager                                              Ext. 312

Frances A. Aguirre, Office Manager  (español)                          Ext. 310

Janet Rekesius, Administrative Services Manager                    Ext. 311

Salvatore Zerbo, Erosion Control Inspector                              Ext. 316

Nathan Charron , Erosion Control Inspector                            Ext. 320

Gerri O’Brien, part time clerical                                                       Ext. 318

Nicholas Chaballa , Erosion Control Inspector                         Ext 321

Danielle Dennis, Receptionist                                                        Ext 301

Conservation Partners



Dan Mull, District Conservationist

101 Bilby Road, 1H

Hackettstown, NJ  07840-1753

Cooperative Extension

Essex County  – Jan Zientek, County Agent, County Extension Dept. Head


621A Eagle Rock Ave, Roseland, NJ 07068

Passaic County  – Dr. Amy Rowe, County Ext. Dept. Head III (Asst Professor)

1310 Route 23 North,Wayne, NJ 07470


Environmental and Resource Management Agent, Essex and Passaic Counties

Dr. Amy Rowe

Rutgers New Jersey Agricultural Experiment Station

Cooperative Extension of Essex County

621a Eagle Rock Avenue

Roseland, NJ 07068

(973) 287-6360

Professional Services

The Hudson Essex Passaic Soil Conservation District uses the following professional services:

Accounting Services – O’Connor, Wood & Humphries LLC

Legal Services – Charles P. Cohen, Esq.

Auditor – Ferraioli, Wielkotz, Cerullo & Cuva

IT Services – Next Century Systems, Inc.

Labor Law Consultant – Gregg H. Salka, Esq. of Salka Law LLC

Computer Programming – Cortland Computer Services, Inc.